Some of the New State Laws Going into Effect Sept. 1
New Texas laws go into effect this Sept. 1 which were passed by the Texas Legislature earlier this year. Here are a few of the big ones:
You’ll now have to be 18 to buy over-the-counter cough medicine. Lawmakers were concerned some medicines have an ingredient used by teenagers to get high. Texas is the 19th state to raise the minimum age.
Beer To Go
Craft breweries can now sell up to a case of beer per customer, per day, to go.
Forensic Testing of Rape Kits
A new law will add staffing and money for forensic testing of rape kits. It will require an audit of untested kits and extend the statute of limitations. The law is named after Lavinia Masters, whose rape wasn’t tested for 20 years after she was sexually assaulted at 13 years old.
Customers purchasing tobacco must be 21 years old and that includes both cigarettes and e-cigarettes. The law does not apply to those in the military. Violators will face a misdemeanor and up to $500 fine.
Children’s unlicensed lemonade stands won’t be regulated if they’re selling on private property.
A bill legalized hemp farming and the sale and possession of hemp-derived CBD oil containing less than .3% of THC, the compound that produces a “high” in marijuana.
People who steal packages off front porches could go to prison with a new law that makes it a felony to steal mail, including packages, postcards, etc.
People can now show their hunting and fishing license on their digital device. Also, hunting feral hogs on private property no longer requires a hunting license.
Restaurants, bars or businesses with a mixed beverage permit can deliver alcohol with food to homes or other locations off their premises.
Many laws relating to guns were approved this session. Some include: guns will be allowed in school parking lots, leases to rent a apartment or house can’t ban guns, people can have a gun during a natural disaster without a license to carry and home owners associations can’t restrict gun ownership.
No limit on the amount of school marshals a school can have.
Kali’s Law is a new mandatory ignition “kill switch” requirement for boat operators. The “kill switch” would stop a boats motor if the operator is thrown from the vessel; hopefully protecting the boater and passengers from being hit by the vessel or its propellers.
Unsolicited Nude Photos
It’s now illegal for someone to send you nude photos you never asked for. Sending unwanted, unrequested nude photos by text, dating app, email or any other platform is now a class C misdemeanor.
You can soon carry brass knuckles. Up until now — they’ve been banned. But the representative who sponsored the bill says he wants people to be able to protect themselves.
These Texas laws, and many more, go into effect Sunday, Sept. 1.
Source: Some of the new state laws going into effect Sept. 1 (08/26/2019) – https://www.nbcdfw.com/news/politics/Some-of-the-New-Laws-Going-Into-Effect-Sept-1-Texas-2019-558287311.html.